Revised collections following bank holidays in 2022

Please note that in some areas refuse and recycling collections take place as early as 7am so please have your rubbish presented at that time. Please note the below dates are subject to change.

Christmas and New Year 2022

Christmas and New Year bank holiday collection changes
Normal collection day Revised collection day
Monday 26 December (boxing day) Wednesday 28 December
Tuesday 27 December Thursday 29 December
Wednesday 28 December Friday 30 December
Thursday 29 December Tuesday 3 January
Friday 30 December Wednesday 4 January
Monday 2 January (New Year’s Day - substitute day) Thursday 5 January
Tuesday 3 January Friday 6 January
Wednesday 4 January Saturday 7 January
Thursday 5 January Monday 9 January
Friday 6 January Tuesday 10 January
Monday 9 January Wednesday 11 January
Tuesday 10 January Thursday 12 January
Wednesday 11 January Friday 13 January
Thursday 12 January Saturday 14 January
Friday 13 January Monday 16 January
Monday 16 January Tuesday 17 January
Tuesday 17 January Wednesday 18 January
Wednesday 18 January Thursday 19 January
Thursday 19 January Friday 20 January
Friday 20 January Saturday 21 January

Normal collections resume Monday 23 January.

Garden waste collections will be suspended at the end of the day on 16 December 2022 and will resume on 16 January 2023.

Please note the above dates are subject to change.

Recycling centre opening times

See the Christmas and New Year opening hours for the reycling centre.

Opening times for Swindon Road recycling centre
Day of the week Opening times
Monday to Friday (summer time)* 7.30am - 7.30pm
Monday to Friday (winter time)* 7.30am - 6.30pm
Saturday 7.30am - 4.00pm
Sunday and bank holidays

9.00am - 1.00pm

*Summer time is March to October, when clocks are set to British Summer Time (BST); winter time is October to March, when clocks are set to Greenwich Mean Time (GMT)

During busier periods the main gate to the recycling centre may be shut earlier than listed due to the number of vehicles in the queue or on site.