Ukraine crisis: information for people affected by or concerned about events in Ukraine, including a link to our online book of solidarity.

Find information and support

Bank holiday waste and recycling collections

Revised collections following bank holidays in 2022

Please note that in some areas refuse and recycling collections take place as early as 7am so please have your rubbish presented at that time. Please note the below dates are subject to change.

Summer bank holiday

Normal collection day Revised collection day
Monday 29 August (bank holiday) Tuesday 30 August
Tuesday 30 August Wednesday 31 August
Wednesday 31 August Thursday 1 September
Thursday 1 September Friday 2 September
Friday 2 September Saturday 3 September
Monday 5 September - normal collections resume

Christmas and New Year 2022

Normal collection day Revised collection day
Monday 26 December (boxing day) Wednesday 28 December
Tuesday 27 December Thursday 29 December
Wednesday 28 December Friday 30 December
Thursday 29 December Saturday 31 December
Friday 30 December Tuesday 3 January
Monday 2 January (New Year’s Day - substitute day) Wednesday 4 January
Tuesday 3 January Thursday 5 January
Wednesday 4 January Friday 6 January
Thursday 5 January Saturday 7 January
Friday 6 January Monday 9 January
Monday 9 January Tuesday 10 January
Tuesday 10 January Wednesday 11 January
Wednesday 11 January Thursday 12 January
Thursday 12 January Friday 13 January
Friday 13 January Saturday 14 January
Monday 16 January - normal collections resume

Garden waste collections will be suspended at the end of the day on the 16 December 2022 and will resume on the 16 January 2023.

Please note the above dates are subject to change.

Recycling centre opening times

Monday to Friday (summer time)* 7.30am - 7.30pm
Monday to Friday (winter time)* 7.30am - 6.30pm
Saturday 7.30am - 4.00pm
Sunday and bank holidays

9.00am - 1.00pm

*Summer time is March to October, when clocks are set to British Summer Time (BST); winter time is October to March, when clocks are set to Greenwich Mean Time (GMT)

During busier periods the main gate to the recycling centre may be shut earlier than listed due to the number of vehicles in the queue or on site.