Honorary aldermen and freemen

Honorary Alderman and former mayor, Brian Chaplin, and Freeman of the Borough, Edward Gillespie

The council can bestow honorary titles in recognition of distinguished contribution to civic life.

The council has conferred the title of honorary alderman upon past members of the council in recognition of their services to Cheltenham and the borough council.

From time to time the borough council may decide to bestow honorary freedom on an eminent individual or group. The honorary freedom is then conferred by the mayor at a special ceremony. Whilst it is the highest honour that the borough can give there are no particular entitlements attached to it and the honour cannot be passed on.

Honorary aldermen

  • D J Banyard
  • W V P Bullingham
  • Mrs A Cassin
  • B Cassin
  • B A Chaplin
  • A J Cornish
  • R Garnham
  • Ms D M A Griggs
  • L G Godwin
  • M R Hale
  • C R Lloyd
  • Mrs I Stainton
  • L Surgenor
  • R A Wilson
  • Robert Garnham
  • Brian Chaplin
  • Mrs Jacky Fletcher
  • John Rawson
  • Lloyd Surgenor
  • Mrs Anne Regan
  • Mrs Barbara Driver
  • Duncan Smith

Honorary freemen

  • The Gloucestershire Regiment
  • Central Flying School, RAF Scampton,  Lincoln,  Lincs
  • Air Vice Marshal Professor R A Mason, CB, CBE, MA, DSc, Cheltenham
  • Dame Janet Trotter, DBE, BD, MA, MSc, Dtec(Hon)
  • Edward Gillespie, Cheltenham