What is the food hygiene rating scheme?

banner for the food hygiene rating scheme

To help you choose where to eat out or shop for food, we run the national Food Hygiene Rating Scheme (FHRS) in partnership with the Food Standards Agency (FSA). The scheme gives you information about the hygiene standards in restaurants, pubs, cafés, takeaways, hotels, and other places you eat out, as well as supermarkets and other food shops at the time they are inspected by the council.

Which businesses are given a rating?

Restaurants, takeaways, cafés, sandwich shops, pubs, hotels, supermarkets and other retail food outlets, as well as other businesses where consumers can eat or buy food, will be given a hygiene rating as part of the scheme.

the six food hygiene ratings

How is the rating calculated?

Each business is given a rating following an inspection by an officer from the food safety team.  This is based on how well the business is meeting the requirements of food hygiene law at that time. In particular:

  • how hygienically the food is handled - safe food preparation, cooking, re-heating, cooling and storage
  • the condition of the structure of the premises - cleanliness, repair, layout, lighting, ventilation and other facilities
  • how food safety is managed and documented - using a system such as Safer food, better business

The rating reflects the conditions found at the time of the last inspection and does not reflect the quality of food or the standards of service the business provides.

Requesting a re-visit

Businesses are entitled to request a re-visit in order to gain a higher rating.

Frequently asked questions

The FSA have a list of frequently asked questions on the scheme.